Search:

SIYE Time:14:25 on 1st July 2022

Reviews For Through Shadows

Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.15 - 11:17AM Title: Absolution

starstarstarstarstar

I did a happy dance when Harry was hugged by Mrs. Weasley and then again when he had dinner downstairs with the family. Yes, his thoughts are gloomy, yes, his determination is fierce, and yes, he seems lonely that Ginny is girlfriend to another bloke, but I think his progress in saying 'me' to Mrs. Weasley, letting her hug him and take some of the hurt away, and being brave enough to face the family is great progress to be celebrated. Well done.

I hope what you are doing to help yourself is successful. I can see that you are pouring a lot of yourself into this story and that's what makes it so powerful a read... because you understand what your character is going through. However long it takes to post the next chapter will be well worth the wait.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 09:22PM Title: Rebuild

starstarstarstarstar

No matter how short, this is a meaningful chapter. It's one in which Harry is allowed to make decisions for himself again and not just blindly answer the way Voldemort likes him to in order to demoralize him and take away his identity. That Harry decides to trust Ginny, Sirius and Remus is definitely a step in the right direction, too, and I'm glad that he ultimately makes the decision that Harry is real. Well done. Happy chapter.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 09:02PM Title: Nothingness

starstarstarstarstar

If I could wring Voldemort's scrawny neck, I would! I don't suppose his mind games were any worse than the ones the Viet Cong used on American prisoners during the Viet Nam War. The same thing with the torture; when one side is trying to demoralize those on the other, the pain and lack of food and water are equal, no matter where or when it's used on a prisoner. I really liked the fact the Harry used Ginny in his dreams to help him decide who was real and who wasn't. It all makes sense now, even though it's sad. You're right about the chapter ending hopefully. I'm glad he made the choice, given the clues provided, to trust Sirius and Remus enough to go with them. Great chapter! Well done!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 08:01PM Title: Exclusive

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Sirius getting the one-up on Fudge...that was the best part of the chapter. The second-best part was Remus's discovery that Harry and Ginny blushed when they thought the other wasn't looking. Great chapter! Well done!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 05:22PM Title: Slipping

starstarstarstarstar

You're right, this chapter was a little better than the last trip into Harry's world that Voldemort forced him to take. I could at least read it in a reasonable amount of time with few interruptions to yell at the screen! To be honest, I'm still not looking forward to the last Harry-as-captive chapter. To say the least, my reaction tells me that this is the best story I've read this year so far. Well done.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 04:02AM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The news about Sirius being given his life back is tremendous! What a great way to end a chapter that continues to show signs of Harry's improvement and willingness to interact with more people than just Sirius, Remus and Ginny. My heart still goes out to him, but I smile every time he takes a risk to trust someone new; in the meantime, Hermione's insistence that she be given everything is becoming really annoying and I'm thankful that Ron seems to be more accepting of how things are. I look forward to reading the next chapter and hope that all goes well for Sirius.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 03:35AM Title: Knowledge

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is a much better chapter than the last one because I'm not mad at you after reading it! I like how you're introducing elements from the last three books early and think they may be clues to how best Harry and crew can eliminate Voldemort quicker than Rowling did in the series. You made me smile when Ginny did some soul searching over Michael Corner's letters while trying to convince herself that it is better to pay attention to her boyfriend than it is to do the same with Harry... and failing miserably! I don't think there will be any searing kisses between the two until much later, but I know you're planting the seeds of romance between our favorite couple. Well done!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.14 - 02:13AM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

It took me a couple of hours to read this chapter because I had to keep walking away from it. That's definitely testimony to how well-written this chapter is because I was repulsed with every new event... and you said there's two more chapters like this! Oh! You're positively horrid! I'll stick with the story, though, because I definitely want to know what's going to happen with Harry's recovery. That's the silver lining to this whole mess... something to look forward to. Well done!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.13 - 05:26PM Title: Reveal

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow! A genuine smile and a laugh from Harry that's truly his! What miracles and such a nice way to end the chapter. It looks like the occupants of Grimmauld Place are beginning to understand just what happened while Harry was gone. Very sad, but very understandable all the same. Well done.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.13 - 07:22AM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow! Harry really does trust Ginny! It's good that he does because I think her role in his healing will be significant because she understands what it's like to have Voldemort in her head. I like that she did her best to help him focus when Snape entered the room and eventually succeeded in helping him close the "door" on Voldemort's intrusion into his mind. The other thing I find it interesting is how kind Snape was when he was examining Harry, telling him what he was going to do before he did it. I'm thinking that maybe Remus' reminder about Lily's friendship helped to temper how Snape dealt with him. Nevertheless, it's nice to know that there's no lasting physical damage done by the potion. The psychological, however, is another story, one that I think will be an on-going theme for the next few chapters. Well done.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2022.06.13 - 06:38AM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really like the ending to this chapter. The use of the words "real" and "alive" have certainly taken on a significance they've never had in a story until this one. I think they're going to be important to the rest of the story because Harry needs "real" in order to recover from his ordeal and Ginny seems to need "alive" so that she stays grounded enough to help him heal. I'm really glad that Harry thinks she's "real" enough to let her help Sirius and then stay by his bedside as he falls asleep. I also love, love, love what she says to her mum and Dumbledore down in the kitchen. It took great courage for her to speak her mind and risk being castigated for her opinion. It was nice that Dumbledore seemed to agree with her. Well done. I'm looking forward to chapter five.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2022.05.19 - 06:17AM Title: Absolution

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well I’m glad to see harry is making real progress and leaning to move forward with everything and everyone…. Kutgw

Author's Response: Thank you!!!



Reviewer: Truthrowan Signed Date: 2022.05.18 - 05:06PM Title: Absolution

starstarstarstarstar

I've just done a complete read through of this story, and I want to thank you for this amazing work. It's an idea that I haven't come across in my many years of reading fanfiction (over 20) and you have done it so very well. I hope you are feeling better, please know that you come first, and that we will wait as patiently as necessary for you to write and update, and we will celebrate every time you do. I hope as this school year ends you get more rest and feel better. Teaching, especially in a post-pandemic world, is extremely difficult.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words!



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2022.05.16 - 05:32AM Title: Absolution

starstarstarstarstar

First of all, you have to take care of yourself. I think stepping away from this story is a good thing especially since it isn't the happiest story. I would suggest writing a new happier story to get the creative juices flowing when you feel up to it. Just take care of yourself. Don't worry about us.

This chapter is just amazing! We know that Umbridge is on the horizon but the gang is getting prepared. The whole Harry-Mrs Weasley scene was just heartbreaking and precious. YES, that is exactly what Harry needs to heal and why people won't real beforehand.

I like that your Harry, despite everything, is more emotionally mature about his feelings regarding Ginny even though it did take time. Poor Harry doesn't realize that she still loves him though lol

What surprises me is that Harry knows about being a Horcrux himself. How did he figure that out? I like that he is independent in this way whereas he needed Dumbledore and Snape to reveal this to him. I realize that it is two different scenarios but still...I like it.

I hope that things get better soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! Basically everything I write is angsty, but I'll see if I can manage something lighter. Ugh, Umbridge. I may or may not be giving everyone even more reasons to hate her in future chapters. I'm so glad that you liked the Harry-Mrs. Weasley scene! As for Harry and Ginny, we've got a bit of an "idiots to lovers" thing going on here lol but don't worry, they'll get there. Eventually. Harry figured out he was a Horcrux back in chapter 11 when he was still imprisoned, so feel to read it again to refresh your memory if you want. He will eventually have to speak to Dumbledore about the Horcruxes, and the fallout of that conversation... well, I'll let you wait until we get to chapter 26 to find out what happens. Anyway, thank you again!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2022.05.15 - 07:29PM Title: Absolution

starstarstarstarstar

So wonderful to see this new chapter from you! It really tugged at the heart strings! Ginny would have a big cow if she knew about Harry's feelings for her not to mention what he is facing! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D (As far as us being patient with you, the only thing you need to worry about is taking care of yourself. You are in my prayers.)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Harry has a lot to work through, but Ginny has to make the conscious decision to ditch Michael, and she's not there yet lol they're both idiots in their own ways, but they'll get there.



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2021.09.07 - 12:04PM Title: Real

starstarstarstarstar

I really love this chapter! I love how you captured Harry's pov and let us know how he is feeling while advancing the plot and filling in the blanks! Good luck for the start of school!



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2021.08.20 - 09:14PM Title: Real

Another fabulous chapter. I love all of the angst. This is a brilliant chapter. So happy Harry is gaining some semblance of himself back. Re-readings the story for the millionth time. Excited for the next chapter, whenever that is. Good luck with real life. I know how that goes.



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2021.08.20 - 08:59PM Title: Real

starstarstarstarstar

Another fabulous chapter. I love all of the angst. This is a brilliant chapter. So happy Harry is gaining some semblance of himself back. Re-readings the story for the millionth time. Excited for the next chapter, whenever that is. Good luck with real life. I know how that goes.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2021.08.08 - 12:34PM Title: Real

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Unfortunately I think for harry he will lose the ground made when Ginny walks out the door, and I have a feeling they are both going to be home school before the end of September with harry basically relearning everything he has learn for the last 4 years….. kutgw and good luck with the upcoming school year.



Reviewer: Charly42 Signed Date: 2021.08.07 - 08:51PM Title: Real

starstarstarstarstar

No Review




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear