Search:

SIYE Time:14:54 on 30th July 2021

Reviews For Through Shadows

Reviewer: CharmHazel Signed Date: 2020.12.14 - 05:48AM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarstar

I am intrigued by Harry's refusal of being touched by Madam Pomfrey and Molly. I would automatically say Bellatrix did something, but she is still in Azkaban at this moment, so I am assuming false images have something to do with that. I love that Harry automatically accepted Ginny, despite the lack of proper friendship. Will he still accept his friends or reject them for the moment?

Author's Response: You’ll get some idea of what’s going on in the next chapter, but it’s gonna take a couple more to get a real sense of why certain people are a problem and others aren’t. There is a reason Harry’s accepting Ginny, but it’s going to take some time to fully grasp why. Actually, it should all make sense by chapter 14. You’ll start getting more clues about his friends in the coming chapters. Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2020.12.13 - 12:33PM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well harry is on the long road to recovery....but something tells me it’s going to take a wile before the crew sees him again......harry navigating what’s real and not is going to take time buts it’s a start and with Ginny who has been on that road before can show the way out... kutgw

Author's Response: Take a while before the crew sees him again — if you mean Ron and Hermione, that's chapter 12. There's plenty of difficulty on the way as Harry works to sort out what happened and recover, but he's going to have Ginny, Sirius, and Remus to help him out along the way! Thank you!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2020.12.13 - 09:43AM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarstar

Hmm, interesting that Harry doesn't trust Molly or Madam Pomfrey... is it because they are caring women? I can't help but wonder if it has something to do with Voldemort's contempt of Lily's sacrifice. I did enjoy seeing Harry accept Ginny, even if the idea of him letting her rub the bruise balm in seemed sort of quick. I was surprised Hermione let Ginny bring the tray up without a litany of questions. She's the one I'm worried about with Harry being so delicate. Her need for answers sometimes overrides her good sense.

I like Harry's "real" game. It reminds me of Peeta in Hunger Games, and I liked it there, too. I really liked how Harry connected with Ginny's insight on how Voldemort likes to play mind games. You're going a great job with this. Nice long chapters that end before I can blink!!

Author's Response: You'll get more answers regarding Harry's trust and distrust of certain people in the next chapter. And Harry accepting Ginny's help may have seemed quick, but it isn't actually quite so in Harry's mind. Unfortunately, you're not going to completely understand why that is until chapter 14. There's more of Hermione's plethora of questions coming in the next three chapters because you're right, her need for answers can override her good sense. In fact, she and Ginny are definitely going to butt heads over it in chapters 6 and 7. And you know, I must have subconsciously been thinking of Peeta in Hunger Games, because it only just occurred to me after I posted this chapter that he does something similar following his own time being captured. Thing is, this chapter was written back in early January, right after a good friend of mine unexpectedly passed, and I definitely wasn't thinking about Hunger Games then. This story was my cathartic outlet as I struggled to cope with my friend dying; you'll see some my feelings to try and sort it out and understand sudden deaths in chapter 8 in regards to Cedric's death. Chapters 1-7, 9, and 10 were written in tandem with chapters 8, 11, and 14 (Harry's POV) as I attempted to craft the story's structure and the fallout of what happened to Harry. Anyway, thank you for the review!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2020.12.13 - 08:22AM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarstar

I usually like to read stories that are a bit lighter than this, but I'm glad I tried it. Its well written, and cleverly fits in the canon pieces and answers the questions about that Portkey nicely. I liked the chapter from Ginny's POV too - her character shines through.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you continue to enjoy the story as it unfolds. It is the heaviest thing I've ever written, but I don't write without hope, either.



Reviewer: cartman1701 Signed Date: 2020.12.12 - 06:23PM Title: Morning

I honestly do not know how I feel about this story. Part of this feeling is my studying of psychology and investigating child abuse and neglect for 10 years. A teenager who was physically and psychologically tortured is not going to bounce back and be ready to confront their enemies in a matter of months or even years. How are you going to handle him going back to school? How is he going to handle students knowing what has happened to him, especially the children of Death Eaters? Are you going to have Snape be is normal bully self? Realistically, this is a story that can easily hit 500,000 words. I hope you can really give this story the respect it deserves. You have written a truly heavy story.

Author's Response: I did not enter into writing this particular story lightly, even if I was excited at the prospect of what writing the story could mean for me as a writer. I knew going in that I was creating a really difficult situation, and I promise I am trying to stay as realistic as possible within the constraints of the story I'm trying to tell. I will tell you I'm currently writing chapter 21 and Harry is not back at Hogwarts with his friends as of yet, but I've also written snippets of his return to school to help me explore the trauma and difficulties being faced. I will do my best, and I hope you will be able to see that as future chapters are posted.



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2020.12.12 - 06:13PM Title: Morning

Way to go Ginny.

Author's Response: Haha right? Thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2020.12.12 - 03:39PM Title: Morning

starstarstarstarstar

Hard chapter but encouraging too! Glad Harry is on the mend! Ginny must be happy that Harry responded to her the way he did! I expect love is at work between Ginny and Harry! Hope the recovery continues! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: There's more hard stuff on the way in the next few chapters, but I also knew I didn't want to create a totally hopeless situation, as well. You'll come to understand more how Harry is able to trust Ginny in the coming chapters, but not completely until chapter 14. Thank you!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear