Search:

SIYE Time:13:09 on 30th July 2021

Reviews For Through Shadows

Reviewer: Mutt N Feathers Signed Date: 2021.04.24 - 09:17PM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I love your Ginny and how fierce she is. I always thought that if she survived the ordeal with the diary, she could survive anything. The love Sirius and Remus have is so lovely and paternal, and you made Snape almost human. Excellent writing. MNF

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to highlight Ginny's strength here. I'm so glad you're enjoying Sirius and Remus here, too. Snape... I will always hate him. He only switched sides because of his unrequited crush on Lily, and I can't ever condone his actions because he is generally just so vile. Having said that, he couldn't be written here as his usual despicable self, so I had to find a middle ground of sorts. The man was abused as a child, and he knows full well what the Dark is capable of, so spawn of James Potter or not, Harry is still a child who did not deserve one bit of what has happened to him. My feeling in writing this was that Snape felt he had failed in his mission to protect Lily's son. He had never seen such fear in those green eyes before, and he knew he had to approach things differently this time. Whether that kind of quiet moment ever happens again is still up in the air, mind, but it was what felt right in that moment. Thanks for the kind review!



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2020.12.21 - 01:01PM Title: Tenacity

This is brilliant! I love that the more information we find out, the more mysterious things appear.

Author's Response: Thank you! I worked very hard to make the first few chapters as compelling and mysterious as possible, and I'm glad it's working! More clues and possible confusion are definitely coming your way in the next chapter :)



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2020.12.21 - 09:44AM Title: Tenacity

Your story is remaining in my head - and those are definitely the best kind! I'm wondering if the reason Harry accepts some and rejects others is that the ones he's rejecting are the ones who tried to care for "him" in the hospital wing when Voldemort was impersonating him. He then went and poisoned his mind against the ones he was closest to? Sirius, Remus, Ginny and Snape wouldn't have been there like Molly, Ron, Hermione, Poppy and Dumbledore were...

Author's Response: My story is remaining in your head? Success! I'm totally doing a happy dance in my desk chair right now lol so you don't have it exactly right, but I will say you're on the right track insofar as why Harry accepts some people and rejects others. Sirius asks Harry in the next chapter why Ginny is real, and I expect his answer to be a bit on the confusing side because words are hard after an experience like this. You'll have all the pieces after the next chapter, I think, but it's the question no one has thought to ask Harry yet that makes the puzzle fit together just right. I look forward to seeing what you make of the next chapter when I post it!



Reviewer: CharmHazel Signed Date: 2020.12.21 - 05:53AM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarstar

I loved how Snape handled the situation as he obviously treating Harry as Lily's son, rather than the son of James. However, I am now sitting here trying to figure out the connection that allows Harry to accept Ginny, Sirius and Remus and the only thing I can come up with (outside of whatever happened while he was held captive) is that previous events that they have all been through together (Chamber and events at the end of Azkaban). Looking forward to understanding what it is, even if it does take several more chapters.

Author's Response: Snape is still a git despite his actions in this chapter. You'll see his usual attitude in the next chapter. There's going to be some more clues as to who Harry trusts and distrusts in the next chapter, as well, but whether that clears things up is, of course, a totally different matter. I look forward to see what you make of what comes next! Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2020.12.20 - 08:25PM Title: Tenacity

BTW, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year(and thank God for a new year)!

Author's Response: Haha, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you, as well!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2020.12.20 - 07:34PM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarstar

Harry seems to be a little better but still has his problems! Goriosky! Snape doing a good deed but the git still can't bring himself to address Harry by his first name. Very good thing he has the support of Ginny, Sirius & Moony around him! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: A little better, yes, but there are still many problems to surmount in the coming chapters. Snape is always going to be a git, I can promise you that! The support Harry is getting from Ginny, Sirius, and Remus is going to integral to his ability to cope and recover. Thank you!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2020.12.20 - 12:29PM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well I think the fact that harry allowed shape to examine him in the first place is progress, but i think they all have a very long road to recovery but Ginny will be his teddy bear thought it all...kutgw

Author's Response: There is definitely a long road to recovery ahead, and we're going to see Harry really rely on Sirius, Remus, and Ginny as the story continues to unfold. Thank you!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2020.12.20 - 10:17AM Title: Tenacity

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry. I love the idea of using a closing door as an Occlumency shield, although it's not something I'm certain Harry would ever be able to do successfully. Voldemort is already inside his head in that Horcrux. I didn't know what to make of Snape. It didn't seem as if he really did anything that was imperative in that moment, so I think it was just his nosiness that wanted into that room. He's like Hermione in that way. I don't think she'll be put off for long, either. I wonder how Harry will react to Ron and Hermione? It can't just be he's been turned against those he most trusted, as Sirius still would've been top of that list. Curious and curiouser...

Author's Response: You'll learn that Harry has had to do some incredibly difficult things in the name of survival, but this close the door thing is not in the least bit easy or long-lasting, as you'll see as the story progresses. Snape is... Snape. Harry won't interact with him again until he goes back to Hogwarts, but there was definitely an air of nosiness about him under the "impress the Headmaster with my desire to ensure the potion didn't do anything outside of the stomach ulcers" thing. Don't think you've heard the last of the potion either, or Snape's curiosity about its use. Hermione is really trying not to be too nosy, but as to how successful she is when it's her best friend and she's used to knowing everything that's going on... yeah. It's going to hit an ugly point coming up in the next few chapters. And as for Harry's future reaction to Ron and Hermione... just wait. Answers are coming in the next few chapters, as well. Thank you!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear