Search:

SIYE Time:13:06 on 30th July 2021

Reviews For Through Shadows

Reviewer: Mutt N Feathers Signed Date: 2021.04.25 - 12:31PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

The desperation you've written is palpable. It's horrible to feel how Harry is feeling. Brava for the writing but it hurts to experience it as a reader. MNF

Author's Response: Well, chapter 14 will probably kill you, then lol but thank you! This chapter is one of my favorites that I've ever written.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2021.02.26 - 07:00PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Harry is so screwed.....kutgw



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2021.02.19 - 12:04AM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

*sob* Beautiful and well written chapter. Heart wrenching and painful. All the angst. I love it. Keep it going. I love this story and have re-read it a few times already. I read the next chapter before I decided to review the story. Suffice it to say I can’t wait for the next installment. I love the characterizations and the small nuances from the books that you’ve threaded throughout the story so far. Giving the money to Fred and George threw me the first time as of course the audience knows what the other characters didn’t. But it all makes sense now. Poor, poor Harry. Oh the angst.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really have a thing for angst lol but I'm so glad you're enjoying this story! I actually built up chapters 1-7 while writing chapters 8, 11, and 14 (the three parts of Harry's time in captivity), so there was a lot of back and forth between the chapters as I figured out moments from Harry's perspective and tried to figure out how they looked from the outside as well as the impact on Harry after he's rescued. It was a fascinating challenge to build up a story in this way, and I'm so glad I did it. Thank you for the wonderful review!



Reviewer: FavChanger Signed Date: 2021.02.15 - 10:30PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstar

Personally, I'm going to skip this and the upcoming chapters that flashback to what Harry went through. I feel you've given the reader enough information beforehand to figure out what happened, and it works well enough when the reader is left to imagine the specifics.

I also get a lot more emotional response from the aftermath of a tragedy than during it. Which is why I like Path Diverged so much. With things like this, I just feel frustrated instead of empathetic. But that's just me.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you're choosing to skip this chapter. I'm personally very proud of the writing I did for it. I would encourage you not to skip the other two parts when they're posted, however, because they show Harry's awareness of Ginny and explain why he was truly able to trust her so quickly.



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2021.02.15 - 07:31PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

It definitely wasn't a happy chapter, and I'll admit to having to read it in pieces rather than all in one go. You said there would be four chapters of his captivity. Are they sequential, or is there some reprieve in between? I hated Lucius for his eagerness to see Harry break. I hope we get to see some payback there. Voldemort didn't punish him for the diary nearly enough. I actually felt quite bad for the kind Muggle who tried to help. Harry's hopelessness is painful to read.

Author's Response: It is a hard read, I’ll admit. Wasn’t that hard to write, though. Most of this was written in the days following my friend’s death January last year, so I was in a very dark headspace when it was written. Harry’s captivity totals three chapters, but there is a two-chapter reprieve between this first part and the next. Then another two between part two and the part three. I thought spacing it out was a good idea for a couple of reasons: one, it’s dark and unhappy content, so a breather is nice, and two, it made sense to break up Harry’s experience in terms of what Ginny, Sirius, and Remus are slowly learning about Harry’s time in captivity. The next two chapters reveal something Harry knows that he shouldn’t, which part two explains. I also thought it was important to show how reprehensible it really is to be a Death Eater; I don’t think you can be a direct part of Voldemort’s inner circle without some level of sadistic tendencies. Lucius did think it was totally fine to saddle Ginny with the diary, even if he didn’t know what exactly would happen to her when she wrote in it. I doubt he felt the least bit guilty for his actions until Voldemort found out. He will get some payback, but it won’t be for a while. I felt bad about the moment with the Muggle man, too. It just fit too well with the overall hopelessness that pervades every inch of this chapter. Next chapter will definitely be a bit lighter lol thank you!



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2021.02.14 - 10:52AM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

This is creepy and awful at the same time. Will Ginny, Sirius and Remus ever find out about this?

Author's Response: It was always meant to be this way from the moment I first conceived of this story idea. Ginny, Sirius, and Remus will learn some of what happened in the next chapter, but don't expect that Harry will ever be able to fully talk about the experience. There's a line from Taylor Swift's song "Epiphany" that goes "some things you just can't speak about" in regards to the horrors of war and hospital workers in the current pandemic. This holds true for Harry, as well. Ginny will learn the most out of the three as the story progresses, but even she will not be able to uncover every detail. You'll see in the next chapter that there's still more you don't know about what happened to Harry. Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2021.02.13 - 08:20PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

Horrifying what Harry went thru! Explains alot! Would have been nice if he'd awakened from his nightmare! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: And this is only the first of three parts detailing Harry's time in captivity, so if you think you've got a handle on everything, do think again lol the next chapter will raise even more questions than I think I've properly answered at this point. It definitely would've been nice if the whole thing could've just been a nightmare he could wake up from, but that's not the story I'm telling. Thank you!!!



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2021.02.13 - 07:26PM Title: Nightmare

Great chapter but heart breaking

Author's Response: It's meant to be heart breaking, so thank you!!!



Reviewer: CharmHazel Signed Date: 2021.02.13 - 05:34PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

Harry has got to feel awful for obeying Voldemort's request, even though he had no other choice. It's great to see his captivity covered, allowing us to understand just what Voldemort did to him. I am assuming that the connection between them has gone back as to what we know it to be, now that Harry has been rescued, or can Voldemort still take advantage of it and learn information from Harry?

Author's Response: There is a great deal of guilt and pain on Harry's part because of what he had to do and endure. This is only part one of three about Harry's captivity. We'll see more about his time spent observing/living Voldemort's deception in part two (chapter 11), and then the two weeks the Order of the Phoenix actually knew Harry was missing comprises part three (chapter 14). You'll slowly get more answers about the state of Harry's connection to Voldemort this side of his captivity. Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: InkedinInk Signed Date: 2021.02.13 - 03:31PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

Loved it. Eagerly waiting for the next part. Please update soon.

Author's Response: I'm glad you loved it! I normally update every Saturday, so hopefully I'll be able to get back to that schedule now that my sprain is healing up nicely. Thanks!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2021.02.13 - 03:20PM Title: Nightmare

starstarstarstarstar

This was a dark and disturbing chapter. I can understand better why Harry feels the way he does about the people Voldemort fooled.

Author's Response: It was always meant to be dark and disturbing, so I'm glad it came across that way. It feels a little weird saying that lol anyway, you'll see more of Harry witnessing as everyone is fooled by Voldemort's deception in chapter 11; part two of Harry's time in captivity is more depressing than anything else. Part three will return to the dark and disturbing vibe in chapter 14. Thanks for reviewing!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear