Search:

SIYE Time:14:17 on 30th July 2021

Reviews For Through Shadows

Reviewer: Mutt N Feathers Signed Date: 2021.04.25 - 01:31PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarstar

HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!! I love when a story figures out how to free Sirius and this was brilliant! As an author who writes Sirius frequently, I think this is the most brilliant I've encountered. LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!!!
MNF

Author's Response: Thank you thank you thank you! I'm working on a side-story that details what all was going down at the Ministry that led to Sirius being declared innocent. I'd never seen anyone take this approach before, but when I thought of it, I just HAD to do it. Thanks again!



Reviewer: GryffindorHealer Signed Date: 2021.04.15 - 11:14AM Title: Forward

Is it a good or bad thing, as I read this captivating tale, that I both hope indeed Sirius is acquitted in all the wrongs against him, and that a part of me is still suspicious of some means for TMR to control even this… on to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I mean, there's infiltration aplenty, but most of what we're going to see is Fudge's ineptitude and paranoia as the story progresses. Thank you!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2021.02.27 - 05:32PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I’m glad to see that Sirius is going to be free and that harry is making better progress with people.... kutgw



Reviewer: Dawnmichellem Signed Date: 2021.02.22 - 08:35PM Title: Forward

Like Melindaleo, I'm glad Hermione and Dumbledore were refused their requests and kind of hope Ron gets accepted/forgiven earlier or easier than Hermione. She's just so pushy - I also keep thinking of Ginny's wisdom of needing support to work through what happened without being burdened by what everyone else thought, and I wonder if Hermione will burden Harry with her guilt or try to 'fix' him, or push him to forgive Dumbledore before he's ready.

I can't help but wonder if you're going for a well-meaning but somewhat neglectful/incompetent Dumbledore (who didn't realise what he was subjecting Harry to by putting him with the Dursleys, didn't know or figure out what was going on with Quirrell, the diary/basilisk, etc.) or a Greater Good Dumbledore that put him with the Dursleys intending that he be raised to think himself worth less than others so he'll sacrifice himself when the time comes, and Quirrell, etc. was a test... or something in between

Author's Response: Chapter 12 is called “Forgiveness.” I’ll let you stew on that, but I will say Hermione tries hard to follow the rules set out for being around Harry. She will struggle more than Ron, though. It will be rare that she is around Harry without Sirius or Remus in the room, too, just to make sure the boundaries set out are being respected. Dumbledore… you’re going to have to wait and see what I’ve got planned. I’ve already written the meeting between him and Harry, but I don’t know which chapter it takes place in just yet. You can expect angst aplenty, though!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2021.02.21 - 11:50AM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarstar

Really nice progress here - Tonks and Kingsley now part of the "real" people, Sirius being cleared - oh, I hope so this is real! I'm worried there will be some shenanigans when he goes to the Ministry. Nothing ever goes exactly to plan, so it all seems to easy. I love that both Dumbledore and Hermione were denied their requests. Their pushiness is bugging me. I honestly find myself hoping Ron gets accepted first. If we're up to Ginny's birthday, we're very close to the start of the school year, and Harry is no where near ready. How is this going to work?

Author's Response: Sirius is really being cleared and becoming the legal guardian of a high-profile teenager who was missing for weeks — easy, right? When things happen to people as well-known as Harry, everyone wants to know all the sordid details, don't they? I've got a one-shot I'm working on from Tonks's perspective about the night she and Kingsley took Crouch to the Ministry, and in it, Kingsley essentially placed Harry in Dumbledore's care. Guess who Fudge has been hounding for information up to this point about Harry's recovery, and guess who his new target is going to be? Anyway, next chapter will be part 2 of Harry's time in captivity, but the chapter after that is called "Forgiveness." I'll let you mull over how that one will go down. We are up to August 12 at the end of this chapter, so yes, we're getting close to the start of term, and yes, Harry is nowhere near ready. You know that pattern of something happens at the end of the school year, Harry has to recover, but he's off at the start of term physically healed but emotionally scarred? I love those stories. I have read many of them, including yours (among my top favorites to this day!). I will not be following that pattern in this story. Harry is nowhere near ready. Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2021.02.21 - 11:17AM Title: Forward

Ohhhhh I LOVE the ending and yes Tonks is the perfect person to bridge between Sirius, Remus and Ginny to the others. A tiny part of me hopes that Hermione will muck up slightly with the reintroduction because while she listens to authority, she always has her own way of dealing with things.

AND I am so intrigued to see where you go with this now that Sirius is going to be free!!

Author's Response: I love Tonks; she's a lot of fun to write, and I just knew she'd quickly connect with Harry. You'll get to see what happens with Ron and Hermione in chapter 12. Same with life for Sirius as a free man and Harry's legal guardian. Let's just say it won't be the easiest experience. Thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2021.02.20 - 07:42PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarstar

A nice breakthrough for Harry accepting Tonks and Shack! Ginny is Harry's strength! Hope Sirius really is freed but I'd never trust
Fudge the Smudge! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Fudge is up against Scrimgeour and Amelia Bones on this one, and he's been shot down. It's real, Sirius is free now, but that doesn't mean his freedom comes without problems. Fudge was aware before this that Dumbledore had secured Harry somewhere safe, but he won't tell Fudge where, of course. He's got the public hounding him for information on Harry since news broke about Crouch, and nothing to give them because Dumbledore won't budge. Now he's got a man everyone swears is innocent who was meant to be Harry's guardian in the first place, so let's make him official guardian and bug the crap out of him to learn more about Harry's whereabouts and well-being! Sirius is going to have his hands full lol



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2021.02.20 - 06:13PM Title: Forward

Reginald Barkley a Star Trek reference seriously. Otherwise great chapter

Author's Response: Unintentional reference, actually. I blindly thought of a name, and that's what I ended up with. The question is, why you seem upset with an accidental Star Trek reference?



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2021.02.20 - 05:59PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarstar

Things are actually looking up tho chapter. Dumbledore has the locket, Harry has accepted two more people into his group of "real" companions, and now Sirius is going to be free!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! There's still a long road ahead, but I knew something needed to go in a positive direction after all the heartache and angst I've dished out.



Reviewer: InkedinInk Signed Date: 2021.02.20 - 05:51PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Really loved the update. Eagerly waiting for the next part. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll update next Saturday.



Reviewer: CharmHazel Signed Date: 2021.02.20 - 05:35PM Title: Forward

starstarstarstarstar

Good choice of Tonks and Kingsley for Harry to interact and slowly begin integrating himself back in his circle of friends. And the ending.... OMG I love it!!!! I love stories that find ways to set Sirius free to be Harry's guardian!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really do like this chapter and the things it sets up, especially the ending. Expect Sirius to have quite the job going forward.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear