Search:

SIYE Time:4:19 on 17th June 2021


Reviewer: AlbusSeverus Signed Date: 2008.03.06 - 02:05PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstar

Very nicely done. I liked the modified songs, your imagination and wordplay never cease to make me laugh.

Author's Response: No reindeer were injured during the writing of this story. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Rowena Ravenclaw Signed Date: 2006.07.15 - 07:36PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: stargazerlois Anonymous Date: 2006.01.02 - 06:46PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

Good story, I laughed out loud a few times. Hey I loved all the songs you slipped in. But this junk about F.C or S.C. being a Sox fan, just forget it. It was a fluke and a true believer will always believe in the Cubs.

Author's Response: Outstanding! Now the Cubs need to bring another championship to Chicago (and Portland needs to bring a major league team to Oregon). Actually, Santa mentioned that he roots for everyone's teams and just had a White Sox hat on at the moment. Thanks. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Cassie Payne Signed Date: 2006.01.02 - 04:53PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent - so much going on, but my favorite was the statue of Oz. Could Spenser somehow bring together two of my favorite worlds? As always, entertaining, good work.

Author's Response: "Pay no attention to that fanfiction writer behind the curtain." I'm glad that you picked up all the sutle hints. Thanks. Eric B.



Reviewer: cori_b Anonymous Date: 2005.12.30 - 01:50AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judging for Challenge. aww... how nice. It was written really well- like all of your work! keep it up. cori_b

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Telwyn Dubois Signed Date: 2005.12.29 - 06:02PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starhalf-star

Ah, so Spenser turns up again! I must say, he is quite the excellent OC character - very well developed. Your plot was absolutely lovely - definitely creative. I also liked the improvised gifts - quite creative. And you've woven the bonus phrases in so that they're very natural, good job! (Of course I'm reading it for Judging Purposes!) Anyway, the only thing I didn't like was the secret Harry/Ginny relationship. It seemed rather iffy...the dialogue kind of flat. I wouldn't think Harry the type of person to engage in such subterfuge. But overall, it was a cute, humorous story (I particularly enjoyed Hermione and Spenser being covered in wassail due to a house elf enslavement article!) Good job, and good luck in the Challenge! Telwyn

Author's Response: Thank you. Spenser seems to come in very handy with my Americanisms, and people seem to like him. He's even telling my latest story in the first-person. Harry and Ginny's secret relationship stems from a plotline that I developed in an earlier story. While certain that he can protect her, and that she can take care of herself, they don't want to wave a red flag in front of the Death Eaters (every bit helps). Eric B.



Reviewer: KikiDeeDee Anonymous Date: 2005.12.27 - 03:00PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstar

Charming little entry. Just reviewed for the Challenge. Good Luck Kiki

Author's Response: Thank you. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Torak Signed Date: 2005.12.20 - 03:34PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstar

Reviewed for the Challenge, as is my Ollivander-given duty. But such cruelty, posting it early! I made a point of not reading any of the entries until I'd submitted my own, so seeing a Spenser in the list... tricky situation. Anyway, now it's read and reviewed, and - as is my wont - my full marking sheet is available for your perusal should you be interested. A few of the highlights: Satchmo on the tree. Me like. Phrasing could do with a smattering of commas. Me not so like. "Hogwart's" is wrong. Me no like at all. Oh, and you wrote "populous" instead of "populace", but that - ah-hem - was wrong in the challenge briefing... Ah well. Anyway, overall a bloody good read, as usual. The score I gave it, based on the calculations in my pretty little Excel mark sheet (with weighted scores and all!) is 8.34.

Author's Response: Good catch as always. Thanks. Eric B.



Reviewer: lucky_black_cat Signed Date: 2005.12.16 - 09:59AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, Eric! That was great! Really good job. You had me laughing my head off at some points, specially when I imagine Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny and Spencer saying "Open Sesame!" to a wall LOL! And that Gryffindor's sign of loyalty and trustworthiness at the end just got to my heart, *sniff* hehe. Loved it! Good luck with the Challenge, I hope you get some sort of recognition for this great story! I'm proud to be your rival for this challenge. MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

Author's Response: Thank you. The scene in the Gryffindor common room was a summation of what I was trying to do with Harry and Ginny. The story really is about secrets-their relationship, the inaccuracies of Professor Morgan's past, and Filch's too for that matter, and of course the workshop. Some were good and some were bad, but most were necessary. In the end love conquers all (cue violins). Happy/Merry Christmas! Eric



Reviewer: Sir Ollivander Signed Date: 2005.12.10 - 10:05PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

Hi Eric, There were so many wonderful quotes or references to other stories, a poem and a few movies, that they were more enjoyable to find than the bonus phrases. A few other readers already pointed them out. This was very whimsical and entertaining. Argus Filch actually having a family was a new twist. But Moe, Larry, and Curly, now that's going over the top. I can't imagine Filch so different from them. This was good. Tom

Author's Response: I see that you spotted the Frank Morgan references. I don't know if Larry, Moe and Curly are what his children are like, but I guess that's how Ginny perceives them to be (I smell Spenser's urging there). I had some other things that inspired some characterizations and story lines, but I don't want to give them away here. Thanks for reviewing. Eric B.



Reviewer: Chromatix Signed Date: 2005.12.09 - 06:54PM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

I like this too - had me doubled over with mirth in a few places. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you. Do I need to call the medics? Sriously, I appreciate the review. Eric B.



Reviewer: Brian W. Anonymous Date: 2005.12.09 - 11:53AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

I already told Brad the difference between billiards and pool. It was a really funny story, but I don't understand why Santa would build his castle in England. Why did he let Harry into the workshop? The reindeer bit was hilarious. Gotta get to class. We'll review the other chapter later (we both read the paper copy).

Author's Response: Real estate was very inexpensive there back then. Actually I've read stories and seen movies that have put Santa's workshop everywhere from an island in the South Pacific to a trailer park in West Virginia. He just had to import the reindeer from Lappland. Luna was able to obtain the invitation because her father published the story that they enjoyed (and didn't expect anyone to believe). Forget class! Read everyone's stories. Thanks for the review. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Brad W. Anonymous Date: 2005.12.09 - 11:48AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

My sister printed this off and it's all over school right now. This is real great. I don't think its too long. I liked the ghost's pool hall and what those twins did to Professor Morgan.

Author's Response: Excellent. Spread the word about this website, and all of the great stories that people write. It's a British billiard parlor by the way, not a pool hall. Thanks for the review. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: zookeeper Signed Date: 2005.12.09 - 02:14AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, I really fell into it. I especially liked that "Harry got ran over by a reindeer." that one made me laugh so hard I had tears running down my cheeks. Just a little side note, you made a bit of a mistake when Harry and Ginny are given detention from McGonagall, she refers to Ginny as Miss Granger instead of Miss Weasley. Otherwise, very well written, and very entertaining.

Author's Response: Thank you for catching that. We should have caught it here when we did the proofing, but I've fixed it now. I'm glad that you liked the reindeer pun. I wasn't sure if everyone has heard that song, or the one about Mommy/Ginny kissing Santa Claus. I really appreciated the review. Eric B.



Reviewer: Indie Anonymous Date: 2005.12.08 - 10:24AM Title: Chapter The First: In Which Our Friends Discover And Are Discovered

starstarstarstarstar

that was just wonderful... I normally don't read christmas stories but that one got my attention somehow. It was really good. I loved the exploration of the castle. I can't wait to read Ginny's story. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you. Her story is perhaps three-minute of additional reading. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]



../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear